Saturday, September 16, 2006

Nations Gather for Peace and Cooperation

Map of Non-Alignment Movement--NAM--Members

The Non-Aligned Movement

The Fourteenth Summit of the Non-Aligned Movement--NAM--will conclude today in Cuba.

NAM--is an international organization consisting of over 100 countries. The NAM countries make up 2/3 of the United Nations and contain 55% of the world's population. Nam was formed in 1954, and its purpose is "the national independence, sovereignty, territorial integrity and security of non-aligned countries in their struggle against imperialism, colonialism, neo-colonialism, apartheid, racism, Zionism, and all forms of foreign aggression, occupation, domination, interference or hegemony as well as against great power and bloc politics"

NAM has five prinicples:

1. Mutual respect for each other's territorial integrity and sovereignty
2. Mutual non-aggression
3. Mutual non-interference in domestic affairs
4. Equality and mutual benefit
5. Peaceful co-existence

NAM has the potential to develop into a power to fend off the Corporate Globalization plans.

Nam will probably have strong growth in Latin America with Chavez working to unify the region. A number of observer countries (in the pre-membership status) are from Latin America.

Here's a list of the NAM Member States:
AFRICA-- (53) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Camores, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo Democratic Rep of, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar. Malawi, Mali, Mauricio, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunes, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
ASIA-- (38)Afghanistan, Bahran, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Phillippines, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Korea Demcoratic People'sRep of, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Timor Leste, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Yema
LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBEAN--(26)Antiqua y Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Columbia, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Dominican Republic, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad y Tobago, Venezuela
OBSERVING NATIONS--(16) (PRE-MEMBERSHIP STATUS)Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, Paraguay, Serbia, Ukraine, and Uruguay

ORGANIZATIONS (OBSERVER STATUS)--(8)The African Union, the Organization for Solidarity with the peoples of Asia and Africa, the Kanak and Socialist National Liberation Front, the Arab League, the New Movement for the Independence of Puerto Rico, the Islamic Conference Organization, and the United Nations Organization.

Sources are:
Non-Aligned Movement
Fourteenth Summit 2006